Skip to main content



June 12, 2024

Belmont, MA – Steven DiSalvo, president of Endicott College, has been elected chair of the Board of Directors of the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in Massachusetts (AICU Mass) for the 2024-2025 term, while E. LaBrent Chrite, president of Bentley University, has been elected as Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect. Mary-Lou Retelle, president of Anna Maria College, will continue to serve as Secretary and Treasurer.

AICU Mass also welcomed four new members who were elected to join the Board this year: Vince Rougeau, president, College of the Holy Cross; Sunil Kumar, president, Tufts University; Sarah Willie-LeBreton, president, Smith College, and Mark Thompson, president, Wentworth Institute of Technology. All appointments are effective June 1, 2024.

President DiSalvo succeeds Western New England University President Robert Johnson, who will continue to serve as ex-officio.

“It is an honor to follow outgoing Chair of the Board, Robert Johnson, and his leadership, to continue the transformative work of AICU Mass, where our 59 member institutions generate a $71.1 billion economic impact across the Commonwealth,” said DiSalvo. “I look forward to collaborating with leaders to educate and empower the next generation, propelling Massachusetts towards a future of boundless opportunity and prosperity.”

DiSalvo is a higher education leader with a track record of transformative success at multiple colleges and universities. He became Endicott’s president in 2019 and has stewarded major initiatives at Endicott, including the construction of three new academic buildings including the Cummings School of Nursing & Health Sciences. Endicott has experienced record enrollment and endowment growth under his leadership.

“Steve DiSalvo has brought tremendous energy and thought leadership to our board during his tenure as vice chair,” said Rob McCarron, CEO of AICUM. “I am looking forward to working with him even more closely as he begins assumes his role as our chair.”

The 2024-2025 AICU Mass Board of Directors:


Chair: Steven DiSalvo, Endicott College

Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: E. LaBrent Chrite, Bentley University

Secretary/Treasurer: Mary-Lou Retelle, Anna Maria College

Board Members

Father William Leahy, Boston College

Vince Rougeau, College of the Holy Cross

Aisha Francis, Franklin Cummings Tech

Sarah Willie-LeBreton, Smith College

Sunil Kumar, Tufts University

Mark Thompson, Wentworth Institute of Technology

Robert Johnson, Western New England University (ex-officio)

Maud Mandel, Williams College

Michaela Whelan, Wheaton College

 About the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in Massachusetts

AICU Mass represents 59 independent colleges and universities throughout the Commonwealth, educating more than 285,000 students each year and employing nearly 100,000. Our members include large nationally renowned research universities, smaller, highly regarded liberal arts colleges, religiously affiliated institutions, and colleges with special missions focused on business or music or allied health services. AICU Mass plays a critical role in advocating for college affordability, including state and federal funding for need- based student financial aid, federal research support and addressing state and federal legislative and regulatory issues.